Christmas Happenings and A Weigh In

I have finished my first semester of grad school with A’s in all three of my classes.  I’m pretty pleased with myself right about now, I’m having fun with my kids, loosing weight and kicking ass in my MBA.

Now that my first semester is over and I have 4 weeks completely to myself I still have a lot to tackle.  The Warrior Dash is a definite, so the goal is to become at least a jogger in the next few weeks.  Luckily, I have enlisted a couple people to help me work on that.  I also am going to hit potty training with Fallyn hard, she’s still a little younger than average to start but I think she’s ready.  She knows when her diaper is wet and has told me a few times she has to go #2 and made it to the potty.  I know that part is so gross to share for people who don’t have kids SORRY!!  And biggest thing of all is I have done VERY LITTLE Christmas shopping 😦  Hopefully I get some inspiration  on what to get and Vince and I can get some of it done tomorrow.  I know mostly I’m going to be making lemon poppy seed bread and some type of chocolate cookies for everyone but also trying to get people small gifts UGH!

Sunday we went to Universal and Islands of Adventure for our VERY FIRST child free day since Fallyn was born.  It was so much fun, I am a fan of Harry Potter and the area dedicated to the books in Islands of Adventure is amazing.  It is so detailed, I loved it.  We also got to see the Grinch and some Who’s in Dr. Suess’ Landing which was also beautiful and very fun.  Friday we are all headed to Mickey’s Very Merry Christamas Party.  I’m pretty excited because Fallyn can ride most of the rides at the Magic Kingdom Park.  Other exciting news I have been asked to be a bridesmaid in one of my best friends’ wedding this June!!!  I’m so excited she is going with a romantic/glamour theme and things look beautiful.

Now on to the most important item for Wednesday my weigh in.  I have been doing really good with my low carb eating, but have been working out less.  Soon workouts will not be an option!  If I want to be able to make it through the Warrior Dash there’s no choice I have to fit them in.

Starting Weight:  177
Last Week:  165

Today:  162 🙂

Goal, I would like to be under 160 by Christmas!   I am also going to be actually doing a walk/run 4x a week starting next week.  I’ll still keep eating well,  at the end of the week I’ll be adding fruit and whole grains back into my diet but still not more than 3 servings a day for these complex carbs.  By the way I’ve found that once you make the decision that you want to be a healthier happier you and really want to loose weight making better eating choices isn’t that hard.  It’s not always the easiest for example when you are at a theme park and need a snack there are NO low carb options so you just have to be hungry until your husband feels sorry for you and buys you an $8 hot dog since it’s the only thing you can find that’s low carb.  For Disney I’m going prepared, with a small lunch bag for cheese sticks and fruit to share with Fallyn.  I also attribute the fact it’s far easier this time to stay on track to my very public weighing, and to joining Lindsey in the weight loss competition.

Just so you can get an idea how far I’ve come I included some pictures.  When I was pregnant with Dominic I got up to 198lbs.    When I started this blog I weighed 177, in mid October but at the end of the month I had gained two lbs and weighed 179 when I started the competition with Lindsey.  Even though in the 3 months since I’ve had Dominic I have lost 36lbs unfortunately I was not at an ideal weight when I got pregnant.  I still have about 25lbs I’d like to loose and quite a ways to go.  I’ll be back here with you every Wednesday to weigh in, and Lindsey and I are planning to start another competition when this one is over to get the rest of our weight off!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Happenings and A Weigh In

  1. You can do it! James was a smoker up until about five weeks ago. Last Sunday we ran a 5K as a family (even the dog). He even commented that it was easy! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

