Adventures in Potty Training

*Disclaimer:  Don’t read if you are easily GROSSED OUT*

The day after Christmas I decided I would start potty training Fallyn.  She had been telling me when her diaper was wet and sometimes would tell me before she pooped and went on the potty.  But she wasn’t the magic age of two yet, so I wasn’t sure if she would really be ready.  Weighing everything I decided that I would try with her for a good week and if she didn’t seem to be getting it we’d wait another month and try again.

I have heard many methods that worked for different people and lots of advice.  Taking all this into account I decided the best method for Fallyn would be naked from the waist down for several days taking her to the toilet every 15-30minutes.  I knew this was going to be messy but our living room is all tile so I wasn’t too worried.

Day one went as expected pee on the floor several time and poop on the floor once.  But she also went in the toilet several times and was very excited with all the cheering I was doing when she did make it.  Also, when she pooped on the floor and saw it was totally offended and tried to run and get away from it (I found it hilarious, until I had to clean it up).  By day two she only had 2 pee accidents.  Day three it got kind of cold down here so we went to wearing pj pants.  This kind of set her back and she peed in them a few times.  By the weekend she was telling me when she had to go, and I just constantly reminded her she wasn’t wearing a diaper and to tell me if she had to go.

My Big Girl Fallyn

Now she is wearing panties at home all the time except during naps and bed time.  I ask her every once in a while if she need to go to the bathroom and if she says no (which she usually does) I tell her “don’t pee in you pants” and typicall not right away but soon after she is telling me she has to go.  Each day she is staying more dry through her sleep times and peeing a lot once she wakes up.  And I still am not  brave enough to let her go out with no diaper although the past several days when we’ve gone out she has either held it until we got home or told me and I took her to the toilet.

On a side note though, poor thing, if she spills water out of her cup she thinks its pee.  Which is really funny, because she’ll say “OH NO! pee pee, pee pee”.  She’s fine once I tell her its just water but at first sometimes she got a little upset.

Overall, I’m very impressed with how well she’s doing.  Again, she’s not two yet.  I guess this is another benefit of staying home with her.  I can work with her and praise her one on one.  At a day care most of the time they cannot start working on potty training until 2 because there isn’t a toilet in the 1year old room.  There is no point in even starting because if they can’t work with the child during the day what you can accomplish in a weekend would totaly be undone by the next weekend.

6 thoughts on “Adventures in Potty Training

  1. Love it! Cora wanted to potty train a few weeks ago so I went with it. She had a major poop accident and won’t go near the panties. I am going to try again next week. Good luck!

    • That’s awesome! I’m so happy she’s doing so well. And I started Fallyn just completely naked from the waist down so if she did poop her pants it did end up on the floor(which was gross) but not all over her. Maybe that would help. Good luck!! Keep me posted 😉

  2. Lol I loved everuthing you write. Cant comment about this one but didnt get grossed out. I cleaned Ajax and Sasha’s pee & poop and thanks God they were good after 3 months lol Love my pupies.
    I wasnt that good arround the holidays but I’m back on Track
    ♥☺

    • Thank you Maria, I really appreciate that you enjoy my writing! I was terrible from Christmas until after the new year!! I barely worked out and ate JUNK all week. It was terrible. But I’m back on track now and looking forward to a good (hopefully) weigh in on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

