A New Challenge

As you know Lindsey and I were so happy with the results from our first challenge.  This is why we decided to start another! This time we have invited others to join us for a Spring Bikini Body Showdown, because who doesn’t need to get ready for beach season!  Right now there are 4, by the end of the week there should be 5 of us all together.  This time we are doing a the biggest percentage of weight lost wins!  So far I’ve lost about 1.5%  I’m not in the lead 😦  But, that’s ok, I’ll keep at it slow and steady wins the race!

I missed you last week, I had so much reading to do for my classes I completely lost track of the days as they became filled with reading, question answering and some research.  But I’m back.

At the end of our last competition we decided to take a week off  then start the next competition.  Well I gained back two pounds so was up to 159 on 2/6.  Which was the start date for our new compeition.  My goal is to loose about 25 more lbs.  Which leads me to my question for you all.  I have been doing a lot of research on Ideal weights, BMIs etc.  For women it seems our ideal BMI for health is around 22, for attractiveness is somewhere between 19-22.  My goal weight has been to get to between 135-140lbs which is about 5-10lbs more than I weighed in highschool.  In my research I have found to get to the Ideal BMI of 22 I need to weigh somewhere around 135-137.  Which luckily is about the goal I have in mind.

After talking to some people, I have realized that when I start to get closer to a healthy weight I am going to stop paying attention to the scale  and BMIs.  I will still be weighing myself to stay on track, even once I get to an ideal point.  I think large weight gain happens because we do not pay enough attention to weekly fluctuations.  I know that’s what happened to me, I didn’t weigh myself and all of the sudden I looked in the mirror and couldn’t figure out how I got here.   Once I get to a healthy BMI/Weight to see what is IDEAL for me I plan to simply look in the mirror, at pictures and the size of my clothes to decided where I want to be.  What do you all think?  How have you figured out your ideal weight?

Starting Weight:  177
Last Weigh In: 157

Today: 156

Just so you know, last week I lost the two pounds I had gained back on our week off and from here on out would like to continue loosing around 2lbs a week.  So, the goal for next Monday is 155!  Lots of workouts planned and still loving my Body By Vi shakes.

See you next week.

2 thoughts on “A New Challenge

  1. I think those are reasonable and attainable goals Rachel. According to the BMI, I’m at the top of the healthy BMI scale, but I don’t want to be balancing on the precipice. I also don’t want to be at the low end, because I want to look healthy. I think I’ll be completely satisified at about 135. Like you, my high school weight was 125 but I don’t need to be that small anymore.

Leave a Reply

