Keep Going

http://www.canyoustayfordinner.com/

I found this blog through a posting of one of her recipes on Pinterest.  Andrea weighed 268lbs and was able to loose 135 and has kept it off for 5years.

Why did I want to share this blog with you?  Well, I was getting into a little bit of a slump, I just haven’t felt like working out.  I was eating decently so still losing but I know I could be doing better.  I’ve also, gotten under 160 and have been getting many compliments and started thinking well maybe I’ve lost enough, size 10 is ok.  Which size 10 is more than ok its great, for some, not for me.  I was a size 4-6 before I let things get out of control.  I can be a size 6 again.  I should not weigh just under 160lbs, my ideal weight is around 135 probably 140 at the most.  Its so much easier to just let things go but then there are major consequences, your back, knees and other joints suffer.   When we let ourselves become over weight, do not eat healthy and don’t exercise health risks such as heart disease, diabetes and even cancer is heightened.

My point being its hard to stay motivated, even with all those consequences floating in the back of your mind, its hard.  I was slipping, I don’t like working out.  I LOVE greasy cheap fast food, hot dogs, and Pizza Hut.  I could eat a pan of brownies by myself in a day, I could eat 5 doughnuts and then head to Taco Bell for a couple tacos, nacho or bean burrito.

It is hard to say no thank you to a foot long ultimate sub at Publix, and go home and drink a shake for lunch.  Its hard not to eat Cheez-Its and chocolate chip cookies.  Its hard not to, but is it worth it.  At the end of each day I am successful in avoiding bad food choices and working out, I feel good.  Feeling good about myself, setting a good example for my children, extending my life those things trump a chocolate chip cookie every time.  That’s what I try to remember.

How have I started to come out of my slump?  I did one of the things I love.  I read and read and read some more!  I read the canyoustayfordinner.com blog.  If she could loose half her body weight(135lbs) then surely I can loose 45-50lbs.  I also through pinterest.com found a lot of motivational sayings/pictures for fitness.  I made one of these pictures my laptop’s background and saved the other pictures, which I have posted here for you.  I read shape.com to find more weight loss success stories.  I read my curves diet and exercise book and my Shape magazines.  I read WebMd’s frightening data, the risks of being over weight, of not exercising and of not putting the right nutrition in your body.  Through all this reading I found new inspiration, I found the motivation to keep going and loose the rest of my extra weight.

Don’t get me wrong I am a believer in not depriving yourself and moderation.  But, I also think moderation is how you keep your weight in check.  I am not there yet.  If my family is out and there’s not a lot of choices to allow me to eat healthy, then I just do my best but I don’t let my whole day go down the drain.  If I have one bad meal I make the next one better to help balance things out.  I don’t beat myself up over a wrong choice, I think about what I am going to do now to make up for it and what I will do next time to avoid making that choice again.

I want to be healthy, I want to be fit, I want to be stong, I want to feel confident, I want to my children to develop good eating and exercise habits at an early age.  I want to loose 20-25 more pounds!!!  I want to be a size 6.  The only person who is going to get me to those wants is me.

I better start working….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Keep Going

Leave a Reply

